‘Day On A Plate – With A Simple TWIST’

Hey Beauties,

Happy weekend!

How are you all?

Its FOOD time!!!

I often make mention, of my tummy issues and how its had a huge impact on my life physically and mentally. So today I am handing over my baby (zee blog) to my drop dead gorgeous friend Shani, from Keep it Simple.

16124368_1773568559634791_5401327575546986496_n.jpg

Shani and I fall in love, through our commitment to our 6AM F45 class, a few mutual connections, THANKS BOOKFACE and our stomach issues.

I mean how romantic are we……..I know when she is having a bad tummy day, likewise she knows when I am not right.

Look, I have to be honest its not hard to crush on this babe, she’s pretty darn special inside and out. Her Instagram account has become a bit of a fan favourite, Shani breaks down simple food, makes it look amazing and approaches her issues by helping others.

*PS she is fructose intolerant, meaning no fruit, no onions, no sugar, no honey, no garlic PLUS a whole heap more.

YHIKES I thought dairy and gluten was rough!!

The good news, is we often educate one another on how we eat and what works for us. In turn helping YOU my dear friends.

Plus she’s a gem, as she is proving you with her day on a plate along with all zee recipes. #WHATADOLL

So my loves, may I introduce the beautiful Shani from Keep It Simple.

Keep It Simple Instagram is here –

Keep It Simple Facebook page is here –

SIDE NOTE its Mel’s hens this weekend, so I MAY be out of action for a few days.

Yes absolutely yes, I will do a post on zee hens.

YOU can follow our hen adventures here , I will be sure to pop up a few stories.

HAHA sorry Mel

Ok Ciao xx

    Image may contain: 2 people

 

Hello Friends,

My name is Shani from Keep it Simple.

Jess & I met sometime last year at F45 and immediately connected over gut & intolerance issues- I know right, gut issues: connecting people since god knows when! Both Jess & I suffer from intolerance’s/allergic reactions to gluten & dairy and have very sensitive tummies. The sad thing is that this is such a common occurrence these days, but the good thing is we are so spoilt for choice when it comes to food options that make us smile from the inside out.

I have a strong passion (obsession) for food, health & nutrition, mainly from dealing with intolerance most of my adult life. Many people think that having intolerance limit your choices when it comes to eating, but my view is that it forces us to be creative about what we are eating and fuelling our body with. When I was told I could no longer eat pasta, I found an alternative. When I was told I know longer could eat chocolate, I found an alternative… you get the picture? For me, my intolerance can be summed up by one saying: (cliché or not hehe)… ‘When life gives you lemons’ … Well, life gave me a shitload of lemons (quite literally) and I had to figure out what to do with them! This didn’t happen overnight- but overtime I learnt to make the best of a bad situation… I learnt to make lemonade (or simple, healthy recipes in my case)!

Outlined in the recipes below is an easy to follow, daily meal plan for someone living with intolerance’s (such as us), or someone who wants to make a healthy change in their diet & lifestyle (good on you!). I will also chuck in some ‘simple tips’ to help you along the way. All of these recipes are Gluten, Dairy, Sugar & Yeast free… Also did I mention fruit free? We hope you enjoy these recipes as much as we do!

X

Start the day/ Healthy Tips:

  • Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar & lemon in warm water in the morning.
  • Tablespoon of coconut oil.
  • Spirulina If you aren’t taking spirulina, you should start… NOW! Read more about the benefits of spriulina here
  • Peppermint Tea If you have been glutened, drink a big mug of peppermint tea & relax… Unfortunately, there is nothing you can do to reverse it, and stress will probably inflame the gut more.  
  • All Natural Cleanser Mix baking soda & coconut oil together for a simple face wash/ scrub. Use a wet face washer to clean face afterwards.

Breakfast:

Super Greens Juice

It’s never too late to get on the green juice bandwagon! Your body is dehydrated when you wake up & having a green juice is a quick and easy way to hydrate your body and top up on your depleted vitamins and minerals. I’m a bit hardcore with my veggie juices, but if you want something a little sweeter, try adding some blueberries or strawberries.

Simple Tip: Add a teaspoon of coconut oil for a creamy texture.

Ingredients:

  • 3cm slice of zucchini
  • 3cm slice of cucumber
  • Thumb size of ginger
  • Small handful of spinach
  • Squeeze of lemon
  • Small handful of mint
  • Half Avocado
  • Water & Ice

Simple Recipe:

  1. Add all ingredients into a Nutri-Bullet or similar & pulse until smooth.

Green Juice.png

Lunch:

Crunchy Chicken & Orange rind salad

It is super important that raw foods make up 50% of your diet – and no, I’m not talking about raw cookie dough! Unfortunately, the cooking process can kill the essential nutrients of the fruit or vegetable, so by eating raw foods we are keeping the nutritional integrity and giving our body the fuel it needs.

Serves 1 or 2 as side dishes.

Ingredients:

  • Large handful of shredded chicken breast
  • Handful of snow peas, ends trimmed
  • ¼ avocado, cubed
  • Handful of alfalfa sprouts
  • 1 spring onion, finely chopped
  • Walnuts & Pinenuts
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • Rind of 1/2 orange
  • Olive oil
  • Himalayan sea salt & pepper to season
  • Tiny splash of Apple Cider Vinegar

Simple Recipe:

  1. Throw all ingredients into a large bowl and use clean hands to combine.

Chicken Salad.jpg

Dinner:

Chicken ‘Cauliflower rice’ Paella

I absolutely love this dish… It has all the flavours & textures of paella, but without the naughties. This dish is fantastic for sharing & is a great way to sneak some extra veg into your diet.

Simple Tip: you can add prawns or chorizo if you want to take this dish to the next level.

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

  • 3 Spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 chili, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 2 breasts of free range chicken, cut into large cubes
  • 1/4 head of cauliflower, diced in food processor
  • 1/4 head of broccoli, finely chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 capsicum, diced
  • 3 tablespoons of organic tomato paste
  • 1 handful of parsley, roughly chopped
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup of organic green peas
  • 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons of smoked paprika
  • Juice of half a lemon + lemon wedges to serve.
  • Salt & Pepper

Simple Recipe:

  1. In a large wok, heat onions, chili, garlic & olive oil. Add diced chicken & brown slightly. Season with salt, pepper & smoked paprika.
  2. Add tomato paste, stock, tomatoes, capsicum, cauliflower & broccoli. Stir to combine & put lid on wok to cook through. Stir intermittently.
  3. Add spinach, parsley, peas and lemon juice and stir through. Put lid on to steam the peas & spinach. If dish looks a little dry, add some more stock. At this stage I like to taste the dish & see if it needs a little more smoked paprika.
  4. Serve with fresh lemon wedges & parsley.

Paella.jpg

Dessert:

Coconut & Cacao Mousse

It’s hard giving up sugar, but its not impossible. Treats like this healthy chocolate mousse helped get me through the dark times. You will be amazed at the texture, so smooth & creamy…

You will hardly notice its sugar free, diary free & gluten free.

Simple Tip: I like to make a big batch & keep in the fridge in glass jars.

Serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of coconut cream (full fat), refrigerated overnight. Just use thickened layer at top of can.
  • 1 large tablespoon of almond spread
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 3 drops of liquid stevia or you can add honey if you wish
  • 2 tablespoons of cacao
  • Tiny pinch of Himalayan sea salt
  • Cacao nibs, sunflower seeds & coconut to serve

Simple Recipe:

  1. Open the can & scoop out the solid part into a small, deep bowl. You can save the rest for smoothies.
  2.  Place all other ingredients into bowl (except topping ingredients) and combine with a bar mix or beater. I like to mix for 2-3 mins to get air through & make it extra fluffy.
  3. Spoon into small glass jars or ramekins for serving & top with cacao nibs, sunflower seeds & coconut flakes!

Coconut & Cacao Mousse.png

Enjoy 

x

One thought on “‘Day On A Plate – With A Simple TWIST’

Oh hey babe, why don't you leave me some sexy words............ Or just a reply will be fine :)

