You CAN make friends with salad

Yeah Salad,

Oh HEY babes,

This weeks post will have a feature editor or as I like to call him, the dude I am going to Marry.

So I’m calling it now – this is a joint post.

We are going off the grid for a few days…… meaning I have no time to give you the goods, SO because I want to give you the goods I hired back up.

Basicaly we are both going to rock your socks off with our winning combos, PLUS I am going to try and take some pretty pictures. Yep a lot of work is going into this so YOU BETTER LIKE IT. OK aggressive Jess maybe tone it down, yes this is me talking to me.

We are off to RADS and by RADS I mean Adelaide – there will be wine involved need I say more. Well I will say more as there will be bikes, my favourite people in the whole world ( Jules, Kath and Kate) wineries, food and just pure indulgence. #shityes

Side note this means I can show you the goods and give you all the best advice on the Barossa. Just a friendly reminder to my brain, GET PHOTOS BEFORE TOO MUCH WINE IS DIGESTED.

So with my all time favourite day of the year coming up, triple J hottest 100 or technically speaking Australia Day – we have prepared TWO super quick and easy salads.

PS, as it is my favourite day of the year – here is what I voted for your welcome. Just on a side note if you don’t know what the hottest 100 is, here is what I prepared earlier. “it is regarded as the world’s greatest music democracy” #listentoit

A.B. OriginalJanuary 26 {Ft. Dan Sultan}
Beyoncé – Hold Up
Chance The Rapper – All Night {Ft. Knox Fortune}/Kaytranada Extended Joint
D.D Dumbo – Brother
Frank Ocean – Solo
Illy – Catch 22 {Ft. Anne-Marie}
Kanye West – Ultralight Beam
Kid Cudi – Surfin’ {Ft. Pharrell Williams}
Zeds Dead – Too Young {Ft. Rivers Cuomo/Pusha T}
Mura Masa – Love$ick {Ft. A$AP Rocky}

Tangent Jess we are not here for that,  we are here for the people and salad and remember we CAN make friends with salad.

SALADS

I am a coeliac and I am allergic to dairy – I mean don’t you just want to be me……….. I am the boy in the bubble, google it I am that bad.

So when I do food related posts you can guarantee that each dish will not contain anything of the above.

One day in the near future I will explain all the glory deets of this.

However for now I will hand my baby over to – Sir Annis, CK, Anus, C,Craigo, Bae or just Craig whatever works for you.

Just quietly hes actually a really good cook, I would never tell him this but look hes been pretty darn great since being diagnosed.

Enjoy party peeps, and if you DO happen to make this for your Australia Day – zomg SHOW ME THE GOODS.

J X

13912806_10153697135981437_2503276724044229989_n.jpg

Craig’s Bit –

Hey peeps, I’m Craig, Jess’s fiance. Nice to e-meet you

*awkwardly shakes hand with laptop screen*

Soooooo, it’s Australia Day and you’ve been invited to a BBQ. It’s the standard invite: BYO booze and meat but you feel like you should bring something else? Here’s a couple of simple as salad recipe’s that even I can make! They’re tasty, healthy AF and are a nice variation from the Rocket, Pear and Parmesan and Mango and Walnut salad that you’ve been rockin the past few years!

Vietnamese salad

This little gem is so easy to make and costs next to nothing! It’s great for a BBQ coz it goes brilliantly with chicken (#cleaneating), or if you want to ditch the dressing (but why would you) then it’s perfect with any other BBQ meats as well.

What Chu Need

Salad

  • 1 wombok – Vietnamese cabbage (relax, they sell them at Coles and Woollies)
  • 3 large carrots
  • 6 ‘things’ of spring onion (What is the collective noun for ‘things’ of spring onion?)
  • ½ bunch of mint
  • ½ bunch of coriander
  • cabbage (optional)

Dressing

  • Fish sauce
  • Rice vinegar
  • Lime juice
  • Fresh chillies (go a big red)
  • Garlic and Ginger

(If you’re making this at home I also grab about 1kg of chicken breast chopped into thin strips which I boil and then cut into smaller strips when they’re cooked. Boom! Dinner party for one!)

DSC_0022.jpg

What Chu Do

Sweet, so, make sure you wash the wombok first – don’t want any grit or nasties in the salad, then cut the wombok into thin strips.

No need to be a sushi chef with it but you definitely don’t want chunky bits of wombok in the salad. Apply the same technique with cabbage too if you’re using it.

With the carrots, peel them and then you can julienne them, or if you haven’t the time, energy, or Masterchef experience, then just cut the top off the carrot at an angle, and using a veggie peeler, carefully peel across the stump.

You should end up with really thin thumb sized slices of carrot which look awesome in the salad and save heaps of time trying to julienne.Finely chop the coriander and add it to the bowl. Ditto with the six things of spring onion.

Here’s a trick with mint: to get the aroma out, carefully pull the mint leaves from the stemand discard the stem. Once you have a pile of mint in your palm, slap your other hand over the hand holding the mint – like you are clapping with cupped hands. You’ll thank me!

Most people think that tearing mint releases the aroma but no, there’s some science thing about the mint carrying the scent in veins of the leaf and blah blah blah – just try it and you’ll thank me (Also great for mojito’s too!).

Once you’ve slapped the mint and it’s smelling ace, then wait a couple of minutes and tear the mint into smaller pieces and add it to the salad.

Mix it all together and the salad is done!

DSC_0026.jpg

Dressing:

It’s soooooo easy,

Grab a jar, whack 3 tablespoons of fish sauce, 1 teaspoon of grated ginger, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 3 tablespoons of water, 1 tablespoon of fresh lime juice, 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar, 3 teaspoons of brown sugar (I don’t eat sugar, so I use 3 teaspoons of dextrose instead – avoid stevia though if you are looking for a sugar replacement, it leaves a weird taste in your mouth in this dressing) and ½ finely chopped chilly.

Shake it up!

And there you have it! An awesome BBQ salad that should take about 15 mins to make. I keep the dressing separate and the salad (if covered) will last for a whole week of lunches.

If you want to skip the fish sauce dressing for the BBQ then low fat mayonnaise drenched over the salad turns it into a weird but yummy coleslaw but seriously, why would you do that!

Enjoy!

 

DSC_0025.jpg

Jess’s Salad

 
OK so I am back with my Salad and I have to say this little baby is quite the hit, so if you DO make her please show me pics or tag me in whatever works. OH and Craig and I are super competitive so MAYBE try mine over his.

Cauliflower with Rocket, Walnut, Cashew and Almonds + plus a dash of Tahini Dressing

This is for a party of 6 

The Actual Food bits:

  • 2 cauliflowers, chopped
  • 1/4 cup almonds, and or almond flakes
  • 1/4 Cup of Walnuts
  • 1/4 Cup of Cashews
  • 6 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Olive oil + sea salt, for roasting
  • 4 cups of rocket

DSC_0013.jpg

The Bonus Dash 

  • 4 tbsp tahini
  • One lemon juiced
  • 1/3 cup warm water
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp parsley

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 9.12.39 pm.png

The Doing Bits 

  1. Turn that oven on to 180 baby.
  2. On a large baking tray, spread roasted cauliflower, garlic, walnuts, cashews and almonds. Flick a helping of olive oil and season generously with sea salt add a little more for luck. Pop this baby in oven for 25-30 minutes until golden and cooked, I like mine borderline burnt so keep to the above time if you don’t.
  3. Dressing time, mix the tahini, lemon juice, warm water, cumin, sea salt and parsley in a food processor, if you don’t have a food processor a juicer will work well too.
  4. Get Creative, once the cauliflower is complete combine all the ingredients ( dont forget the rocket)and go wild with the dressing.  Now serve it to your friends and guess what they wont even know its healthy.

#makeit

DSC_0030.jpg

DSC_0032 copy.JPG

Oh hey babe, why don't you leave me some sexy words............ Or just a reply will be fine :)

